Posted by: dharmabeachbum | June 14, 2012

A little rain won’t stop DBB

I was grinning like a mule in a brier patch as I sloshed through the surf yesterday.

I didn’t find any big sharks teeth. I was rained on in the morning and in the late afternoon. Thunderstorms loomed in the area, threatening to cut both my morning and afternoon fossil-hunting sessions short.

Yet, there was something in the air that had me in a rare good mood.

There wasn’t one time that I felt like bashing someone in the head with my walking stick. Not once.

Let me explain something, man. I’m talking about the snobs. The establishment. Whitey.

The bum has a rule: if someone is within 15 feet of me, I look them in the eye and bid them a good day. You wouldn’t believe how many people look at me as if I’m from another planet. Others just give me a forced, cheesy smile or a slight, condescending nod. They’re the ones I’d love to smack upside the head. So far I haven’t pulled the trigger.

Y’all know, I hope, I’m just kidding about the violence stuff. The beach is my sanctuary and I’m not about to start anything there. In fact, I’ve never initiated a scrap in my life. Been in a few of those two-punch deals and a couple pushing and shoving contests when I was young and even more immature. That’s about it. I’m a peaceful guy who used to be described as passive.

It does annoy me, though, when people pass near me on the beach with their noses in the air. I can usually see them coming. They’re wearing trendy clothes and sunglasses worth more than my entire outfit. I see them finding a reason to look elsewhere as they pass others. In my mind, they’re part of what’s wrong with our increasingly impersonal society.

Anyway. I started this drivel by writing about wading in the surf and being giddy about it. Happier than a loon and just about as crazy. Here are some photos documenting another day in the life on the beach. Life is a beach. (Upper right) It’s always cool to watch storms move out to sea — especially when they dampen your clothes before 7 a.m. (Below) Even though the nearest storm cloud was a mile to the west, sliding, as they do so often, along the Intracoastal Waterway, I was being rained on again. Around 6 p.m., I glanced to the eastern horizon and saw this rainbow.

Responses

  1. Hey Rob It’s mom. I really liked your web page.

    • Thanks, mom. It’s fun to work on. Gives me something to do.

  2. a rainbow huh? you know what they say, “It’s fun to stay at the Y-M-C-A!”

    • No thanks. Have fun at the Y. I’ll hang on the beach.


Leave a Reply

Categories

