Posted by: dharmabeachbum | June 24, 2012

What will the tide bring

The bum can’t wait to go to the beach at dawn.
As I write this, it’s 5 a.m. and the birds are outside singing, but it’s the ocean that beckons me. I’ll be headed there in another 40 minutes.

Since moving to Myrtle Beach 13 years ago, I’ve lived by a creed best summarized by Tom Hanks’ character in Cast Away. “Tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide will bring?”

Chuck Noland’s epiphany near the movie’s end is a metaphor for life, but I take the quote literally. I want to be on that beach at first daylight to see if there’s anything to find. To see what the tide delivered.

I didn’t find anything yesterday. Not one tooth. Not even a pair of sunglasses. Nevertheless, I don’t regret going. I have never regretted going — not even when I got caught in the rain. There’s always something to make the trip worth the effort or inconvenience. Even if it’s just a good photo opportunity. Sunrise (above) more than made up for my having been skunked in fossil hunting.

Gotta go. It’s 5:30 a.m. and I have to strap on my Jesus sneakers. But first I want to share this information with you. The sun is roughly 93 million miles from earth. The moon is 240,000 miles away. Yet, the moon’s influence on our tides is only a little over two times greater than that of the sun.

Confused? Good. Now you know how the bum lives his life. Click on the photo below (sunrise, three days ago), take a few deep breaths, and you should get over that dizzy feeling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

