Posted by: dharmabeachbum | September 12, 2012

Natural selection doesn’t always work

The blue moon slowly faded into daylight to the west, hanging — from my perspective — between two skeletonized catamaran masts and just above the sand dunes and a rickety erosion fence.

I was kicking through some thicker shells at the top of a wash near 67th Avenue North when I first noticed Luna looming in the sky. What an insanely beautiful moment.

To my left a great blue heron stood stoically, content for a few minutes to bask in the  early-morning sun. Then it strutted just above the tide line, waiting for a fish to temporarily strand itself on a fairly steep slope. The heron has made my home stretch of beach part of its morning routine for a few months.

“Nature’s voice makes my heart rejoice. Play me the wild song of the wind,” Bob Dylan once sang.

Indeed, nature is a reprieve from what is becoming an increasingly indecent society.

A few minutes later, a slovenly oaf came walking up the beach and put a damper on my morning. He was roughly my age, mid-fifties at the oldest, and wearing a t-shirt with cut off sleeves.

He looked like a caveman, but he didn’t have to prove his ignorance for my sake. He cleared his sinus cavity by pressing one of his nostrils and blowing out. I’m still having trouble getting the image out of my head.

“That’s disgusting,” I said. “People walk there.”

He looked at me and kept walking. Not even an, “Ugh.”

Why weren’t this man’s genes weeded out through natural selection?

Responses

  1. I visit MB at least twice a year and I’m always surprised, not sure why, at the neanderthals that grace the shoreline.

    In your experience, when is the best time to look for shark’s teeth? I work at it everyday while I’m there, but I’m not always successful.

    • Hey, summeraug, thanks for visiting my site and commenting. I loved your use of “neanderthals” because I was going to use it or cromagnon but I couldn’t remember which one is more closely related to us.
      As far as the shark teeth hunting, I always try to go roughly 1 1/2 hours after high tide, but I think it’s good hunting anytime the water is washing over the shells — assuming there are any shells. Thanks and I hope to hear from you again. Rob.

  2. Oh wait. I just read through some more of your blog and saw your tips and tricks. Thank you!

  3. So glad I found you. I have enjoyed reading through the archives.

    Cindy

    • Hey, Cindy. Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I’ve been taking a break lately (also writer’s block) and haven’t been here myself in awhile. Time to get back to work though. Thanks so much for reading my stuff. I love the beach and love writing about it. I hope you keep coming back. I only started this three months ago, and I hope to expand it quite a bit. Thanks again, Rob.

  4. I was thinking about our favorite gift shop in MB yesterday. My son had asked me this summer if they ever clean the money out of the fountain. Do you know if they do?

    • Cindy, are you talking about the Gay Dolphin? I know there’s a fountain in there. I’ll have to talk to the owner and find out. I’ve talked to him a few times; he’s a nice guy. If it’s not the Gay Dolphin, let me know which one you mean. I love that place. Again, I didn’t respond faster. I gave myself a vacation. The shark’s tooth cove in the Dolphin is my mecca. That place has to be the coolest place in the world.

  5. Yes, the Gay Dolphin. I love the shark’s tooth cove too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

