Posted by: dharmabeachbum | June 3, 2013

Peace still possible on our pale blue dot

This is the first anniversary of my blog and I couldn’t be happier with my readership. Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedules to read my ramblings.

I had the pleasure of seeing two of my readers, Tara and Kenneth Coggins from Gaffney, SC, Sunday morning on the beach. We chatted about the beach, fossil hunting, local politics and NASCAR among other things as we looked through a shell bed here on the north end of town. Miss Tara and Mr. Kenneth are good people and we’ve crossed footprints in the sand at least two years running. For me, it was really a nice moment and an appropriate way to mark the anniversary of starting my blog. I write because I love writing and because I love sharing points-of-view with others.

You know what else is cool? Reaching people throughout the world. WordPress (five out of five stars) provides me with statistics, including a map of the globe, complete with borders. Any country “hitting” on my site is colored according to my blog’s popularity in that country. I want to color in that map; ultimately I’d like to see those colors bleed across borders and obliterate them.

Borrowing a bit from the 1971 Coke commercial (here’s its youtube link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ib-Qiyklq-Q ): I’d like to fill the world with hope and peaceful harmony. Naive? Extremely. Realistic? Nada. Possible for one beach bum? Nyet.

But this world is smaller than we think and we are all brothers and sisters. People everywhere have the same dreams for their families, the same desires for success (regardless of what success means to them as individuals), and the same survival instincts. We all look at the same azure sky, the same sun and moon and the same universe around us. It’s our governments, in large part, that create voids among our peoples. Wouldn’t it be a glorious if we could all live in peace, if we could tend to one another with goodwill, if governments weren’t needed? Unfortunately, governments are necessary evils; without them there would be anarchy. For Ra’s sake, the whole world would be filled with delusional beach bums. Chaos!

Yes, my dreams for this world are idealistic. But nothing is impossible. E pluribus unum. Out of many, one.

I’ve been a statistics nut since I was knee high to a grasshopper. My brother, Brad, still teases me — and rightfully so — about how I used to watch baseball on TV and keep a scorebook. Here’s a look at my blog views per country:

United States 5,093, Canada 154, United Kingdom 57, Australia 29, France 28, Germany 19, Italy 18, Slovakia 16, Chile 12, Hong Kong 12, South Africa 12, Slovenia 11, Philippines 10, Ecuador 9, Netherlands 8, Japan 8, Argentina 7, Norway 7, Mexico 7, India 7, Romania 7, Sweden 7, Colombia 7, Turkey 6, Bahamas 6, Malaysia 5, Lithuania 5, Brazil 4, Switzerland 4, New Zealand 4, Russian Federation 4, Venezuela 3, Belgium 3, Poland 3, Viet Nam 3, Honduras 3, Republic of Korea 3, Greece 3, Denmark 2, Sri Lanka 2, Moldova 2, Portugal 2, Croatia 2, Spain 2, Grenada 2, Sudan 2, Bolivia 2, Kenya 2, Austria 2, Panama 1, Ukraine 1, Peru 1, Singapore 1, Morocco 1, Indonesia 1, Trinidad and Tobago 1, Bermuda 1, Georgia 1, Puerto Rico 1, Uruguay 1, Czech Republic 1, Qatar 1, Uganda 1, Guatemala 1, Israel 1, and Taiwan 1.

Come on China. Get with the program. Stop internet censorship. This is the 21st century. Taiwan is one up on you; you don’t want that, do you? Hey, wait a minute. Hong Kong, which has 12 views, is China. Right? Well, here is why mainland China is still white on my WordPress map — as it is explained on Wikipedia:

“Under the principle of ‘one country, two systems,’ Hong Kong has a different political system from mainland China. Hong Kong’s independent judiciary functions under the common law framework. Hong Kong Basic Law, its constitutional document, which stipulates that Hong Kong shall have a ‘high degree of autonomy’ in all matters except foreign relations and military defense, governs its political system.”

That’s it! I’m getting out my crayons and coloring in mainland China anyway.

Thanks again everyone. Peace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

