Posted by: dharmabeachbum | December 20, 2013

Aristotle fascinated by sea urchins, bum gets the point

Only the bum could manage to get spiked by a dead sea urchin.

Sea uchin shells are fragile, but they make for nice decorative pieces if you’re into the Jacques Cousteau school of interior design. So, I pick ’em up every once in awhile, take ’em home and boil ’em to extract the critter that lives within the shell. Don’t forget to dump in a little bleach if you’re going to try this at home.

I think this is a purple-spined sea urchin. It sits as I found it – the poor critter’s final resting place. Well, not counting my pad anyway.

From what I understand, you can eat them, too, but fortunately I haven’t gotten that hungry yet. If you’re daring enough to try it, I recommend leaving out the bleach. Certain species are considered delicacies around our pale blue dot. Maybe I would to if I were marooned on an island.

Two sea urchins washed ashore within yards of each other when I was out pickin’ and grinnin’ on the sands of time this past week. Bein’ Christmas and all I figured they were gifts from Poseidon and I didn’t want to tee off the geezer so I took them back to the bungalow. Oops. Too late. I meant “young man.” Honest, I did.

That morn was brisk so I kept switching the sea urchins from hand-to-hand as numbness set into my digits. When blood started cirulating in my right hand again, I pulled it and a strange looking mixture of sand and lint from my pocket. My palm and parts of my fingers were rust colored. They resembled the handprint on Wilson, Chuck Noland’s (Tom Hanks) volleyball buddy in the great, Robert Zemeckis flick “Cast Away.”

“Don’t worry Wilson, I’ll do all the paddling. You just hang on.”

Hanks is such a great actor he had me believing that Wilson was alive. I relate well to his character. I talk to seagulls. I’m a bit worried, though, that one of them talks back. Come to think of it, Noland has conversations with Wilson throughout his four-year stay on an a South Pacific isle.

“We might just make it. Did that thought ever cross your brain? Well, regardless, I would rather take my chance out there on the ocean than to stay here and die on this shithole island, spending the rest of my life talking (yells angrily) to a g*#@$#m volleyball!”

Chill, Chuck. Young sea urchins might be listening and, trust me, you don’t want to get them riled up. Urchins of the sea are so ornery they come back from the dead and inflict injury. Two full days have gone by since I pricked myself and I can still feel the points of entry. I cleansed my punctures with hydrogen peroxide, but I’m still feeling a little woozy. Actually, I live with wooziness 24/7 365 days a year so I can’t distinguish one “woozy” from another.

Sea urchins’ spines serve as defense against predators. Put up your dukes, pal. Like other echinoderms they move by means of hundreds of transparent, adhesive tube feet. They eat algae and other tiny critters using a chewing apparatus known as Aristotle’s lantern. Sea urchins fascinated the Greek philospher.

Ari, who shared platters with Plato, had a lot of time to think. I reckon I do as well.

Sources: Wikipedia, IMDb

Categories

